top of page



​©️Christ Gao

Yoko Suzuki 鈴木 瑶子

/ Jazz Pianist, Composer, Arranger

Yoko Suzuki is a jazz pianist and composer from Yokohama, Japan. She was captivated by the sound of jazz during middle school, which inspired her to begin playing jazz piano.


In 2013, Yoko began her education at Kunitachi College of Music, where she studied jazz piano under the mentorship of Makoto Ozone and Satoru Shionoya.

At the annual Tokyo Jazz Festival in 2015 and 2016, two of her original pieces were performed by the JFC All Star Big Band, led by Makoto Ozone.


Following her graduation from Kunitachi College of Music, she enrolled in Berklee College of Music (Boston, USA) with a scholarship, where she majored in Jazz Composition and Performance and studied with Greg Hopkins, Ayn Inserto, Bob Pilkington and Tim Ray.


After being awarded multiple recognitions and scholarships from the school each year, she graduated Summa Cum Laude from Berklee College of Music in 2020.


During her time as a student, she received several young composer awards, such as following below.


2019 : Honorable mention in ASCAP Foundation Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award (“Progress”)

2019 : Honorable mention in JEN Young Composer’s Showcase (“Cat Tricks”)

2020 : Winner of the DOWNBEAT 43rd annual student music award in the category of “Original Composition for Large Ensemble” (“Hmmmm”)

2021 : Winner of ASCAP Foundation Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award (“Flies In May”)


Yoko returned to Japan in 2020, where she has since been performing live in the Tokyo area while continuing to compose. Her current works, such as writing for a commission for the Island Torch Festival in Taiwan, Tubassadors, and multiple big bands, widely range from chamber music to big band.


In 2021, one of her original arrangements was featured by No Name Horses led by Makoto Ozone.

In 2023, her band, YOKO SUZUKI QUINTET, has won the first place in the historical Jazz competition in Japan “Asakusa Jazz Contest,” and also her band has got the most votes from the audience and received “Asakusa Jazz Award.”

bottom of page